Surrounded by beauty, nature, myth and legend. Large four bedroom detached family houses to one bedroom apartments.

Launching Saturday 2nd November 2019, register your interest now.

THE NEW HOMES AT ST OSYTH PRIORY

New houses and apartments for sale within the historic St Osyth Priory Estate, St Osyth, Essex. 

Live in one of just 73 private and exclusive newly built homes on the St Osyth Priory Estate. Set within the historic grounds these traditionally designed homes will benefit from a beautiful setting and premium specification.

From pretty cottages and elegant family homes to stylish apartments, the new homes at St Osyth Priory represent an excellent opportunity to be part of this idyllic historic country estate, whilst benefiting from all that a brand new home offers. Enjoy living alongside the heritage buildings, and the private established grounds, calling the Estate’s livestock and natural flora and fauna your neighbours. Live here and be part of something special.

THE ST OSYTH PRIORY ESTATE

The St Osyth Priory Estate boasts a unique range of heritage buildings, environmental and ecological features. The buildings alone comprise 16 separate Grade I, Grade II* and Grade II listed buildings and numerous Scheduled Ancient Monuments together with the registered park and garden.

The parkland is set adjacent to the River Colne Estuary Site of Special Scientific Interest – an extensive wetland habitat of national and international importance for a wide range of wildfowl, invertebrates and salt marsh plant communities. It is also a County Wildlife Site, with its mosaic of historic ponds and avenues, woodland, reed bed and veteran trees making perfect habitats for birds and other wildlife.

The St Osyth Priory Estate’s history dates back over 900 years with structures still in place from the monastic period. It is essential that it is preserved, restored and protected for the benefit of future generations.

By the building of private and exclusive new homes, the creation of an exclusive circular walk, breathing new life into the Sacred White Hart public house, complete with restaurant and exquisite holiday accommodation, and realising plans to restore and convert the Tithe Barn into a truly wonderful wedding and events venue and visitor centre, City & Country is opening up a new long term and viable future for the St Osyth Priory Estate.

Find out more about the St Osyth Priory and Parish Trust 

New Build Properties for Sale at St Osyth Priory, Essex

Conversion

  • St Osyth Priory

    THE NEW HOMES AT ST OSYTH PRIORY

    Explore

St Osyth Priory, Essex - Property Development Interior Design

  • General

    New homes at the St Osyth Priory Estate are traditionally designed to a premium specification. Benefiting from ease of maintenance and running efficiency, homes have contemporary living at heart.

    Explore
    20_interior-1_157002648721
  • 20_interior-2_157002648822

    Kitchens

    New homes at the St Osyth Priory Estate are traditionally designed to a premium specification. Benefiting from ease of maintenance and running efficiency, homes have contemporary living at heart.

    Explore
  • Bathrooms

    New homes at the St Osyth Priory Estate are traditionally designed to a premium specification. Benefiting from ease of maintenance and running efficiency, homes have contemporary living at heart.

    Explore
    20_interior-3_157002648823

Facilities

  • AN OASIS AND WONDERLAND NATURAL HABITAT

    Adjacent to the River Colne Estuary Site of Special Scientific Interest, the St Osyth Priory Estate is an extensive wetland habitat of national and international importance for a wide range of...

    Explore
    20_facility-1_157010655235
  • 20_facility-2_157011325641

    GOOD NEIGHBOURS MAYBE RARE - OURS ARE A RARE BREED

    The neighbours are wild ~ you’ll love them!

    Explore

History of St Osyth Priory, Essex Development

  • 653 AD Religious Martyr, Tragedy

    In October 653, a band of Danes under Inguar and Hubba landed in the neighbourhood of Chich, and ravaged the country. They came upon Osyth’s Nunnery, and, bringing forth the young Abbess into the Nun’s Wood, commanded her to worship their gods.

    Osyth steadfastly refused and was threatened with scourging and worse torments. Infuriated, Hubba bade her lay down her head. She meekly obeyed and her head was severed from her body close by a spring. Now known as St Osyth Spring, it still flows today to feed the historic lakes.

    St Osyth Seal
  • The Legend of St Osyth

    The first nunnery was founded for Osyth, daughter of Redwald, the first Christian King of East Anglia and of Wilburga, his wife, daughter of Penda, King of the Mercians.

    She was, when very young, entrusted to the care of St. Modwen, at Pollesworth, in Warwickshire. While there she was sent with a book from St. Edith, Alfred's sister, to Modwen, fell off a bridge into a river, and was said to be drowned. Happily she was restored to life by the prayers of St. Modwen.

    Osyth's parents, as soon as she returned to them, betrothed her to Sighere, King of Essex; on her wedding day a white hart appeared, which Sighere and the rest of the male party went in chase of, allowing Osyth to escape. This white stag appears on the stained glass windows in the Chapel and the hart is also seen on other parts of the buildings too.

    When Sighere eventually found Osyth she explained that she had vowed herself to Christ, and could not be his wife. Sighere was generous and religious; he accepted her decision, and let her take religious vows. Then he gave her his village of Chich, which became Chich St Osyth, and built a nunnery for her in Nun’s Wood, of which she became the Abbess.

    Her executioners were astonished when she picked up her head and, holding it at arm’s length, walked to the village church, where she knocked several times on the door before slumping to the ground. Legend holds that every October 7th her ghost repeats the miraculous feat, and can be seen in the churchyard at midnight, holding her severed head.

  • 1120 - Monastic Phase - Augustinian Priory Founded

    St Osyth Priory is among the most important historic sites in England. The Priory was founded in around 1120, and remained a home for the Austin Canons for about 80 years. It was raised to the rank of Abbey and became one of the great Augustinian Abbeys of Europe until it was dissolved in 1537. Surviving remains of the estate’s Monastic Phase include parts of the claustral ranges [including the ‘chapel’], gatehouses of 13th and 15th Century and the adjacent 15th Century ranges together with the early 16th Century accommodation which is now subsumed within the present Darcy House [Abbot’s or Bishop’s Lodging]. It is likely that more monastic fabric will be recognised over time, such as the 12th Century roof which has recently been discovered over the Bailiff’s Cottage.

    2171099 192
  • 1123 - Raised to the Rank of Abbey
    Raised to the rank of Abbey, it became one of the great Augustinian Abbeys of Europe until it was dissolved in 1537. The first Prior of St Osyth Abbey was William de Corbeil, who was elected arch bishop of Canterbury in 1123.

  • 1537 - Reformation and Dissolution 
    The Abbey was dissolved during Henry VIII’s Reformation. Surviving remains of the Estate’s monastic phase include parts of the claustral ranges including the chapel, gatehouses of the 13th and 15th Century and the adjacent 15th Century ranges together with the early 16th Century accommodation which is now subsumed within the present Darcy House (Abbot’sor Bishop’s Lodging). We may recognise more monastic fabric over time.
  • 1553 - Dissolution and Darcy

    After the Dissolution, the property was granted to Sir Thomas Darcy, subsequently first Lord Darcy, who was responsible for transforming the monastic remains, between 1553 and his death in 1558, into a substantial country house. Much of his building work re-used existing ranges, and his chequer work masonry is visible today on the Abbot’s Tower, the ranges running north and west from it and on the Clock Tower. The third Lord Darcy was created Earl Rivers in 1626, and the estate passed down the Rivers line until 1712. In 1671 the Hearth Tax returns recorded 76 hearths at St Osyth Priory, making it the fourth largest house in the county at the time however the physical extent of the house in this period remains unknown. Much of the scheduled ancient monument dates to this period as do the walled gardens south of Darcy’s Tower and some of the oaks and sweet chestnuts in the park.

    St Osyth 1930 800x500

  • 1626 Country House Estate The Rivers Period 
    The Third Lord Darcy was created Earl Rivers in 1626, and the estate passed down the Rivers line until 1712.

  • 1671 Country House Estate The Rivers Period - The Forth Largest House in The Country
    In 1671 the Hearth Tax returns recorded 76 hearths at St Osyth Priory, making it the fourth largest house in the county. Much of the scheduled ancient monument dates to this period as do the walled gardens south of Darcy’s Tower and some of the oaks and sweet chestnuts in the park.

  • 1712 - Earl of Rochford

    In 1712 the estate passed to Frederic Zuleistein de Nassau, the 3rd Earl of Rochford, who is regarded as the creator of the fine house that existed at St Osyth in the 18th century. Rochford concentrated his building work on the west wing of the Darcy House and added westward onto the old Bishop’s Lodging creating a series of entertaining rooms which continued round to meet the west range of buildings to form a partial quadrangle. There was an oval carriage sweep and lawn to the north of a deep block and wilderness gardens to the west of this on the site of the old monks’ cemetery.

    The extent of the 18th century work is considerable and included alterations to the Gatehouse where the second floor drawing room retains its cornices of this period and to the west range of the Gatehouse which also retains many 18th century features. The garden and park owe much of their current form to the Rochford period, the 4th Earl being a keen plantsman and au fait with all the current trends. The northern access and lodges, the ha-ha, pleasure grounds and the introduction of the Lombardy poplar into England [c. 1768] all date to the Rochford period. Frederick Nassau, illegitimate son of the 4th Earl, was responsible for modernising the estate around 1800. It was maintained in this form until the death of his son William in 1857.

  • 1768 - Country House Estate The Rochford Period - Gardens and Park
    The garden and park owe much of their current form to the Rochford period, William Henry Nassau de Zuylestein, Fouth Earl of Rochford being a keen plantsman and au fait with all the current trends.The northern access and lodges, the ha-ha, pleasure grounds and the introduction of the Lombardy poplar into England all date to the Rochford period.

  • 1800 - Country House Estate The Rochford Period - Moderinisation 
    Frederick Nassau, illegitimate son of the Fourth Earl, was responsible for modernising the Estate around 1800.

  • 1857 - Country House Estate - Disrepair and Demolition 
    Maintaining the estate halts after the death of Fredericks son William Nassau, the Estate fell into disrepair two thirds of Rochford’s house was demolished.

    2171099 113

  • 1863 - Sir John Johnson

    The estate fell into disrepair following the death of William Nassau and two thirds of Rochford’s house was demolished. The estate was finally sold at auction to Sir John Johnson in 1863. He commenced his own building programme, demolishing existing buildings behind Abbot Vintoner’s surviving screen wall and creating the sumptuous apartments seen in Darcy House today and extending a range of service accommodation to the east. Johnson undertook the conversion of the monks’ dorter into a chapel.

    The Japanese garden and lily pond together with the topiary and rose gardens within the Darcy walls are all part of his legacy. 

    St Osyth The Chapel 1937 800x500

  • 1909 - Country House Estate - Lady Cowley
    Sir Johnson died in 1909 and the Estate was maintained by his adoptive daughter, Lady Cowley, until her death in 1920 when it was sold. The Estate fell into disrepair and two thirds of Rochford’s house was demolished.

  • Post 1945

    The Priory was acquired in 1948 by a Friendly Society for use as a convalescent home. It was subsequently purchased by Somerset Struben de Chair in 1954, and he carried out limited restoration of the Gatehouse and adjacent ranges. Sadly since the period of Sir John Johnson there has been dwindling investment in the well-being of the estate and maintenance increasingly became a low priority, until it was virtually non existent. De Chair demolished the North Lodges and Workers’ Cottages and sold mineral rights over large tracts of the Estate, resulting in the large areas of gravel workings that remain within the historic parkland today. During his ownership De Chair also sold off large parts of the estate. He married Juliet Wentworth Fitzwilliam, the heiress of the great Wentworth Woodhouse art collection in 1974 and part of this collection was on display at The Priory and helped bring over 20,000 visitors to The Priory when it was open to the public. Even this large influx of visitors sadly did not result in any long term benefits to the historic estate. Sadly De Chair died in 1995. His trustees, on several occasions, attempted to sell the estate but despite the undoubted inherent attraction the estate possesses the enormity of the responsibilities and the scale of the investment required to repair the estate conspired to frustrate the sale process until the Sargeant family purchased it in September 1999.

    St Osyth The Gate House 1962 800x500

  • 1948 - Convalescent Home
    The Priory was sold to the Loyal and Ancient Order of Shepherds, a Friendly Society, who founded a convalescent home.

  • 1974 - The De Chair Period - Wentworth Woodhouse Art Collection
    De Chair marries Juliet Wentworth Fitzwilliam, the heiress of the great Wentworth Woodhouse art collection.
  • 1995 - Decline, Demolition, Sale and Gravel Works

    De Chair demolished the North Lodges and Workers’ Cottages and sold mineral rights over large tracts of the Estate, resulting in the large areas of gravel workings that remain within the historic parkland today.

    De Chair died in 1995. His trustees, on several occasions, attempted to sell the Estate. Despite the undoubted inherent attraction, the enormity of the responsibilities and the scale of the investment required to repair the Estate conspired to frustrate the sale process.

    2171099 030

  • 1999 - Present and Future - Purchase by the Sargeant family

    Purchase by the Sargeant family, owners of City & Country the niché and UK leading award winning heritage developers.

    City & Country and the Sargeant family are supported by the St Osyth Priory and Parish Trust and our Patron, George Clarke.

    Together, we cherish the heritage of the St Osyth Priory Estate, preserving, restoring and protecting it for the benefit of future generations to come whilst bringing a new chapter to the life of the Estate with new houses within within the idyllic and protected heritage setting and the evolution of the Estate as a Wedding and Events venue.

  • 2005

       Back in February 2005, the Time Team had three days to redraw the map of the picturesque town of St Osyth in Essex and establish whether the timbers found in the creek are the remains of a medieval       wharf click here to watch

From:
To:

St Osyth Priory
West Field Lane
Essex
CO16 8GW

Call 01255 388835
  • Sales suite open Thursday-Monday 10am-5pm

Local Area

FOSSIL HUNTING, BEACH WALKING AND SAILING

The St Osyth Priory Estate is a stone’s throw from St Osyth Beach. Walk a little and you’ll see some of the last of the Martello Towers on this stretch of coast. Close by is Frinton on Sea, approached by a wide greensward, it’s sandy and golden when the tide is out and home to wonderfully retro beach huts, built on stilts, they jut out over the beach and the waves slosh underneath.

Find fossils ~ the more common being gastropods and bivalves ~ on the neighbouring beach, Walton on the Naze where there is also a coastal nature reserve, or for good old fashioned British seaside fun head to Clacton on Sea.

If sailing is your passion, one of the finest Yacht Clubs on the East Coast of England, the Colne Yacht Club, based at Brightlingsea near Colchester in Essex, sports the best views out over Brightlingsea Creek, the River Colne and the Blackwater Estuary.

More... Less...

HISTORY, ART AND CULTURE COLCHESTER

As Britain’s first City and the former capital of Roman Britain, Colchester has many important and unique Roman sites and ruins and there is plenty to discover from other eras of English history ~ the Normans, Tudors and Victorians all contributed to Colchester’s story ~ as well as the English Civil War which made significant marks on the town.

Today, Colchester is a thriving and expanding town with plenty to keep you entertained. The town has a strong cultural identity, and a growing arts scene, with numerous galleries, theatres and arts venues as well as a world famous zoo and a bustling town centre with plenty of restaurants and shopping opportunities.

More... Less...

A BREATH OF FRESH AIR OUTDOOR PURSUITS

An oasis of rural adventure, the fresh outside is yours to enjoy ~ walk through or rest with a picnic in St Osyth Priory Estate’s abundant park and woodlands, wander along the nearby River Colne Estuary and beaches to take to the water and sail with the breeze of salt air.

More... Less...

RURAL VILLAGE LIFE

St Osyth village, steeped in history and legend, has a growing modern community with a village school, plenty of local shops, amenities and thriving businesses. St Osyth is Part of Tendring District and the surrounding area includes the Dedham Vale on the Essex Suffolk border, affectionately known as Constable Country, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Colchester and London commuters alike are inspired by dreams of halcyon days and the romance of village life and country living. Active retirees, those downsizing after children have flown and second homeowners are ideally located with proximity to good transport links whilst enjoying being off the beaten track, nature enthusiasts love their wild neighbours and the tranquillity and families have space to flourish.

More... Less...
Top